8:00 am - 4:30 pmMon- Fri


The Department of Public Safety is the result of the merger in 1986 of the police and fire departments. The administrative offices consist of the Director  and civilian support staff who handle records and administrative duties.   One sergeant and two detective patrolman comprise the Detective Bureau. One public safety officer is assigned to the Directed Patrol Unit, a plain clothes specialized patrol assignment. The Patrol Division has four platoons.  Each platoon is led by a lieutenant and sergeant and is staffed by five Public Safety Officers and one civilian dispatcher.   There is one additional officers that work splits shifts in afternoon and evenings.

Sworn personnel are cross-trained to provide all police and fire-related services. In addition, 20 public safety officers are also certified as emergency medical technicians to staff the two ambulances that transport patients to a hospital in the Grosse Pointe area.

Several of the officers are designated as Youth Service Officers and they participate in special crime and fire prevention activities in our local schools. They reward outstanding school safety patrollers with a monthly luncheon and are actively involved in community events and programs.

The support staff also include one part-time ordinance officer and seven school crossing guards.

sign up for city news


Grosse Pointe Park